Minutes of the AGM of Leeds Law Society Held at 5.30pm on Tuesday 17.05.22 via zoom

PRESENT: Sue Harris (Chair), (SAH), David Cowgill (DC), Emma Pearmaine (EP), Catherine Woodward (CMW), David Barraclough (DB), Mathew Jones (MJ), Tom Matusiak (TM), Mark Turnbull (MT), Sarah Wales (SW), Jacquie Stringer (JS),

IN ATTENDANCE: Rachel Windle

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE: Bill Barton, Luke Corcoran, Sue Fox, Kara Frith, Itohan Odekunle, Shanika Varga, Mat

SAH opened the meeting and confirmed she would be Chair. This was seconded by NB. SAH declared the meeting to be quorate, and confirmed that a note had been taken to confirm attendees.

SAH confirmed that she had 12 Proxy Votes, for the purposes of the AGM.

SAH confirmed that the meeting was to deal with the formal business set out in the notice.

1. To receive the minutes of the 2021 AGM

Proposed by SAH, seconded by CW. Carried unanimously including the proxy. Total Votes 21

The attendees were asked if they wanted to raise any matters arising from the minutes. No points were raised.

2. To receive the Accounts of the Society for the year ending 30.04.2022.

SAH confirmed that there would be a separate EGM for the accounts. No comments

3. The President's report

This was taken as read and there were no questions.

Proposed by SAH, seconded by MJ. Carried unanimously including the proxy.

Would anyone like to object or sustain no response.

4. The election of certain officer and director positions

Other Directors

- For the remaining director positions, SAH confirmed that there were 10 nominations. For all proposed SAH and CW seconded all were carried unanimously including the proxy.
- Bill Barton to continue as a director.
- Luke Corcoran to continue as a director.
- Matthew Jones to continue as a director.
- Tom Matusiak to continue as a director.

- Itohan Odekunle to continue as a director.
- Sarah Wales-Canning to continue as a director.
- Shanika Varga to continue as a director.
- Kimberley Woodhead to be a new director.
- Sinead Kearns to be a new director.

All in favour – 22 votes in

Anyone against or abstaining.

Each of those nominated is elected and is a 2-year term.

Resignations

• SAH confirmed the following had resigned as directors of Leeds Law Society:

Ahsan Khan Helen Brown

SAH confirmed that she had reviewed and accepted as valid the following nominations, all of which will take up their posts on 01.06.22.

President

SAH confirmed that there was one applicant, Matthew Jones, proposed by SAH and seconded by CW. SAH read out the nomination form statement of MJ.

Carried unanimously including the proxy. SAH confirmed that she was delighted to declare MJ duly elected as President of Leeds Law Society.

The Following roles will all proposed by Matthew Jones and Seconded by Jacquie Stringer.

Vice President

SAH confirmed that there was one applicant, Nigel Brook,

Carried unanimously including the proxy total votes is 23. SAH confirmed that she was delighted to declare Nigel Brook duly elected as Vice-President of Leeds Law Society.

Secretary

SAH confirmed that there was one nominee, herself.

No questions.

Carried unanimously including the proxy SAH confirmed that she was duly elected.

Anyone against and anyone abstaining.

Treasurer

SAH confirmed that there was one nominee, David Cowgill.

Carried unanimously including the proxy.

SAH confirmed that David Cowgill was duly elected.

JLD Director

SAH confirmed that there was one nominee, Kimberley Woodhead.

Carried unanimously including the proxy.

SAH confirmed that Kimberley Woodhead was duly elected.

Local Government Director

SAH confirmed that there was one nominee, Mark Turnbull.

Carried unanimously including the proxy.

SAH confirmed that Mark Turnbull was duly elected.

Small Firms Director

SAH confirmed that there was no nominee for this role.

In-House Director

SAH confirmed that there was one nominee, Luke Corcoran.

Carried unanimously including the proxy.

SAH confirmed that Luke Corcoran was duly elected.

Trainee Director

SAH confirmed that there was no nominee for this role.

5. To re-appoint the auditors

DC proposed Delegate Accountancy Services Limited be reappointed as auditors, to hold office from the conclusion of the meeting until the next Annual General Meeting.

MJ seconded the proposal. Carried unanimously including the proxy.

Anyone against abstaining.

6. Payment of auditors

Further to the appointment of Delegate Accountancy Services Limited DC proposed that the officers of the Society be authorised to fix and pay the auditor's remuneration.

SAH seconded the proposal. Carried unanimously including the proxy.

That concluded the business of the AGM and SAH closed the meeting.